Songwriting Credits

Jorma Kaukonen

"Mighty Hard Pleasure"

Rock n' Roll Hall of Fame guitarist Jorma Kaukonen (Jefferson Airplane, Hot Tuna) recorded Joe Croker's "Mighty Hard Pleasure" on his 2007 release "Stars in My Crown." The tune is a catalogue of life's temptations—from booze to sex to money and vanity—all of which have the power to exact a high price for the pleasures offered. Kaukonen remarked, "I loved the song the first time I heard it. In some ways, I felt like it told my story."

Click on the link below to listen to a snippet of Jorma's version:


Adrienne Young

"The Girl I Was"

Americana sensation Adrienne Young, guest artist on A Prairie Home Companion, World Cafe, and All Things Considered as well as a 2003 Grammy nominee, has garnered numerous honors over the years. Back in 2003, she was kind enough to lend her beautiful voice to Joe Croker's tale of feminine redemption "The Girl I Was." The track appeared on Croker's 2004 release "Shame, Shame, Shame." A clip is below.


David Basse

"Let's Go Back in Time"

Long known as the voice of Kansas City jazz, David Basse cut Joe Croker's nostalgic nod to an earlier America in 2013 with the ditty "Let's Go Back in Time." Basse's secure position in the heart of the Midwest's jazz capital made his choice of Croker's song all the more meaningful to the songwriter, as Croker himself was born in the same town. Croker's version swings with a 1920s wobble, whereas Basse offers a fitting update by taking the song into the cool receses of a modern jazz lounge. Listen to the opening of Basse's version below.


Kiya Lacey

entire release

Ella Fitzgerald award recipient Kiya Lacey turned to Nashville songwriters Joe Croker and M. Scott Myrick for her debut release, and the writers responded by penning eight tunes that launched the (then) eighteen-year-old's career. Lacey has been described by The Nashville Scene as a singer who "displays control and expression far beyond her years, in ways that will long outlive the novelty of her youth." Enjoy a medley of the Croker-Myrick-Lacey collaboration below.